Dropbox File Locking

admin 11/22/2021
46 Comments

File storage; Anytime/anywhere access to files; Secure sharing; Advanced data protection: Version history and file recovery; Advanced sharing permissions; Password protection; Granular permissions; Advanced productivity tools: Dropbox Paper; File locking; Dropbox Spaces; Dropbox Badge; Team Folders: Content owned by a group rather than an. I am building app in iOS that saves data in Dropbox. Multiple device can use the same data. While doing this, sometime two device may overwrite same file. To avoid this situation is there any like. 3) Dropbox does NOT use bit-level update methods, so active files like Database files should not be sync'd while being used. 4) For recovery purposes (user deletes a ton of files), do not use your DR system, instead log into the Dropbox account and restore the files from there.

File locking is a feature available to Dropbox Business and Professional users that prevents a file from being edited. This allows teams and collaborators to coordinate who is editing a file and avoid conflicted copies.

Once a file is locked, anyone with access to the file can still view, comment on, and share a link to the file. Only the person who locked the file can edit and unlock the file.

If you need to edit a locked file, you can request that the file be unlocked by clicking Ask to Unlock in the window that appears when you attempt to open the file. Or, you can make a copy of the locked file—however, any changes made to the copy will not be reflected in the original file once it’s unlocked.

File

Note: Only files in shared folders can be locked.

Locking

To lock or unlock a file using the Dropbox folder or the Dropbox desktop app on your computer:

Dropbox File Locking

  1. Open the Dropbox folder or Dropbox desktop app on your computer.
  2. Right-click the file you’d like to lock or unlock.
  3. Click Lock Editing or Unlock Editing.

To lock or unlock a file on dropbox.com:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click All files in the left sidebar.
  3. Hover over the name of the file and click '' (ellipsis) on the right.
  4. Click Lock Editing or Unlock Editing.
File

Note: File locking is being rolled out to all Dropbox Business and Professional users in early 2020, so the feature may not be available to you until the rollout is complete.

Unlock a team member’s file

Dropbox File Locking System

Team admins can unlock a team member's file. To do so:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click Admin Console.
  3. Click Content.
  4. Click Locked files.
  5. Hover over a file and click “” (ellipsis).
    • To unlock multiple files at once, click the checkbox next to each file you’d like to unlock
  6. Click Unlock files.
  7. Select whether you’d like to notify the user who originally locked the file.
    • By default, the user who originally locked the file will receive an email notification that their file has been unlocked
    • If you don’t want to notify the original user who locked the file, uncheck the checkbox next to Notify user that file has been unlocked or Notify locker(s)
  8. Click Confirm.

Dropbox File Locking Early Access

Dropbox File Locking

Disable file locking

Admins can turn off file locking for their team. However, any files that were locked before the function is disabled will remain locked. Admins can unlock team member’s files by following the instruction set above.

Dropbox File Locking

Dropbox File Locking App

To disable file locking:

Dropbox File Locking Machine

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com with your admin credentials.
  2. Click Admin Console.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click Lock editing.
  5. Toggle File Locking to Off.
  6. Click Save.