Dropbox Smart Sync Review

admin 11/22/2021
76 Comments
  1. What Is Dropbox Plus
  2. How To Sync Dropbox Manually
  3. Smart Sync Online Only Dropbox
  4. Dropbox Smart Sync Review
  5. Local Vs Online Only Dropbox
  6. Dropbox Smart Sync Review
Dropbox Smart Sync Review

Smart Sync is a Dropbox feature on the desktop application that lets users check files shared with them. It allows users to review new files without taking up any hard drive space. Smart Sync is part of the upgraded Dropbox packages. Smart Sync is similar to an x-ray machine. Both Smart Sync and Selective Sync can help you save space. Selective Sync is an older feature that allows you to choose files and folders to sync with Dropbox. Synced files take up hard drive space, and everything you don’t sync can’t be seen or opened on your computer. With Smart Sync, you can choose to make files 'online only'. Dropbox has a feature on the desktop application called Smart Sync that enables users to check files shared with them. It allows users to review new data without taking up any hard drive space. Smart Sync is a component of the upgraded packages of Dropbox. This review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion. Submit your review. About Dropbox Smart Sync. Get access to every file and folder shared in your Dropbox. Additional details about Dropbox Smart Sync. Dropbox Smart Sync Pricing $0 Customer Type. Individuals; Small Business; Medium Business; Enterprises; Links Report Dead. Dropbox has a feature on the desktop application called Smart Sync that enables users to check files shared with them. It allows users to review new data without taking up any hard drive space. Smart Sync is a component of the upgraded packages of Dropbox.

Smart Sync helps you and your team share content without worrying about overloading your hard drives. Smart Sync team settings are available to Dropbox Business team admins.

Dropbox

When your team starts using Smart Sync, content that’s already downloaded to team member devices remains downloaded. New content is automatically online-only unless you change this setting in the Admin Console. Team members can also choose a personal default for each of their connected computers.

How do I set the Smart Sync default for my team?

The Smart Sync default applies to new content after the default is enabled and isn’t retroactive. The Smart Sync default applies to:

What Is Dropbox Plus

  • Joining a shared folder
  • Linking a new device
  • Adding new content from another computer

To set a default for your team:

  1. Click Admin Console.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Smart Sync.
  4. Select a default for Smart Sync:
    • Synced locally
    • Online-only

Note: You don’t need to set a default for team members to use Smart Sync.

While the admin setting is the initial default, team members can change their device settings to a different default.

How To Sync Dropbox Manually

What are the system requirements for Smart Sync?

Smart Sync Online Only Dropbox

  • Microsoft Windows 7 and above, or Mac OSX 10.9 and above

Can I manage Smart Sync settings for individual team members?

No, Smart Sync settings are team wide, or set by individual team members. Individual team members can manage their own Smart Sync settings at the device, folder, and file level.

Can I manage Smart Sync settings at a folder level?

Dropbox Smart Sync Review

Dropbox Smart Sync Review

Local Vs Online Only Dropbox

Isn

No, the Smart Sync default applies to all folders.

Can I opt out of the system extension for my team?

Dropbox Smart Sync Review

Yes. Learn more about opting your team out of the system extension.